Translate

Monday, July 25, 2011

Hannibal Against Rome Q&A

Hannibal Against Rome Rules Questions

1. Is the action phase (SAP dice - Movement - Combat ) going on forever till one of the players roll a 5 or 6 or does it end when every unit have been moved or fought? That is, is an action phase only 1 "SAP - Movement -Combat" or many in a row?

Action phases (side 1 movement/side 2 movement/combat) for a year are repeated until one player rolls a 5-6. When that happens the Winter Quarters Check is performed, after which the year ends.

2. If I move a unit (stack) into an enemy´s ZOC (and it´s my initiative) can he just slip away without combat if he wants during his movement phase, unless I have him surrounded with units?
From 8.3 EZOC Effects: A stack in an EZOC at the start of the action phase can freely move during the action phase, but must stop if it again moves into an EZOC.

Interpret “at the start of the action phase” to mean at the start of his movement phase which follows yours in the action phase.

So the answer would be that the enemy unit you moved adjacent to can indeed slip away but must stop if it enters an EZOC in which case it is subject to combat at your initiative.

3. It says in 11.2 B that a stack can only attack and BE ATTACKED only once per action phase. Again, is that a series of SAP dice - Movement - Combat or..?

From 9.1 A: NOTE: If either side rolls a 5-6 SAP, the current action phase is the last of the year and the year ends following the Winter Quarters step.

There are none or multiple action phases (side 1 move/side 2 move/combat) in a year. Rule 11.2 B applies to each action phase, not the whole year. So a unit can attack or be attacked multiple times in a year, as many times as there are action phases.

4. Veteran units that take a step loss are flipped over to half strength but recruit units are just promoted to veteran step loss units keeping their combat strength, right? Does a unit suffering step loss ever get out of it and in that case when? If not how do you keep track of who has taken a step loss that action phase?

From 11.2 G: If a veteran unit takes a step loss, flip the counter to its back or step loss side. If a recruit unit must undergo a step loss, the recruit unit is converted (promoted) to a step loss veteran unit. If the stack survives without a step loss, any recruit units in the stack are promoted to full veteran status.

Recruit units that took a step loss are converted to a veteran step loss unit. In other words, the recruit unit was beaten up pretty badly but gained experience. A unit cannot recover from step loss.

Rule 11.2 G applies after each combat. A recruit unit is promoted immediately after combat to veteran status. If it took a step loss it is promoted to a veteran unit at depleted strength (step loss). In the next combat in the year the new veteran unit could take a step loss and be eliminated.

House Rule: During the New Unit Production phase, a side that is producing a new unit may opt to rebuild a unit in the field from reduced strength (step loss) to full strength in lieu of creating a new unit of the same type. If this option is chosen, flip the selected unit to its full strength side. The selected unit does not have to be in the production city. The trade off is that the producing side gains only a half unit but the unit is immediately in the field.

5. If I move a unit to a hex adjacent to an enemy controlled city and an enemy unit also adjacent to the city hex, can that enemy unit move (if it´s his turn to move) into the city or is it "besieged" the moment I land my unit in the hex?

From 1.3 Definitions: Under Siege – A city is said to be under siege when any adjacent hex is occupied by an unfriendly land stack.

From Rule 9.3 C: If a city is under siege, no units can enter the city hex, except by fleet in the case of a port.

Immediately when an enemy unit moves into a hex adjacent to a city occupied by the opposition it is considered to be besieged. In the question example, the side wishing to reinforce the city apparently did not have the initiative and just got there too late to enter the city.

No comments: